Review: Tostitos® Dip Creations™ Freshly Made Guacamole Dip

As part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program, I sometimes get products to test out and blog about. This one is Tostitos® Dip Creations™ Freshly Made Guacamole Dip. I have my own personal way of making guacamole but was willing to try out this mix. If you are unsure of how to make a great tasting guacamole from scratch, this mix would be perfect for you.

I was a little nervous about how it was going to turn out when I opened up the bag. The directions say to add the mix to three large avocados.  I mashed up my avocados and added the seasonings but thought it looked plain. I love texture in my guacamole so I decided to add tomatoes, something I always do anyway. I set it in the fridge to sit for 30 minutes to let the flavors meld (scared that it would turn brown). When I took it out to taste, I was pleasantly surprised to see it was still nice and green.  I was even more surprised at how good it tasted. The seasonings were dead on and there wasn’t one flavor that overpowered another. I really enjoyed the flavors, as did my family. Within minutes the guacamole was gone.

Overall: I would make it again but of course I’ll be sticking to my regular recipe which doesn’t have a lot of sodium and other things I can’t pronounce. I do suggest this dip mix for people who are unsure of what to put in their guacamole. You will be very happy with the outcome.

Note: I was not paid for this post; the opinions and views are strictly my own.

2 thoughts on “Review: Tostitos® Dip Creations™ Freshly Made Guacamole Dip

  1. Thanks, Gina, for this review! I’ve been tempted to try making guacamole at home, but I’m a new guacamole convert. I’ll admit to being a little afraid to try a recipe. I saw the packet in your review at the store, and thought, huh, maybe that would work? I’m curious, would you mind sharing your “go-to” guacamole recipe?

    • It’s a pretty simple recipe and you can adjust the ingredients to your liking. Good Luck!

      2-3 Avocados
      1 small tomato, seeds removed and diced small
      1 lime, cut in half
      1 tbs chopped cilantro
      Salt and Pepper
      Dash of Worcestershire Sauce

      Mash the avocados with a fork till it’s the texture you like. Some like it chunky and some like it smooth. Up to you. Combine all the ingredients together and season with the salt and pepper to taste. You will be amazed at how much salt you might put in. The salt really helps bring out the flavors. But I suggest tasting it as you go along so you don’t over salt. I use kosher salt.

Leave a Reply

